19th Century Novelists – 7 Volume Set: The Critical Heritage Series

ISBN is 0415134552 / 9780415134552
Published by Routledge
Condition: MintEdition: Second
Categories: , , SKU: 554-6


19th Century Novelists – 7 Vols Critical Heritage Set. Comprises of individual volumes on Jane Austen (2 volumes), William Thackeray, Charles Dickens, Anthony Trollope, The Brontes and George Eliot. The Critical Heritage gathers together a large body of critical sources on major figures in literature. Each volume presents contemporary responses to a writer’s work, enabling students and researchers to read for themselves, for example, comments on early performances of Shakespeare’s plays, or reactions to the first publication of Jane Austen’s novels. The carefully selected sources range from landmark essays in the history of criticism to journalism and contemporary opinion, and little published documentary material such as letters and diaries. Significant pieces of criticism from later periods are also included, in order to demonstrate the fluctuations in an author’s reputation. Each volume contains an introduction to the writer’s published works, a selected bibliography, and an index of works,authors and subjects. The Collected Critical Heritage set will be available as a set of 68 volumes and the series will also be available in mini sets selected by period (in slipcase boxes) and as individual volumes.

Books in Set

Charles Dickens Philip Collins
Anthony Trollope Donald Smalley
The Brontes Miriam Allot
George Eliot David Carroll
Jane Austen – 2 Vols. B.C. Southam
William Thackeray Geoffrey Tillotson, and Donald Hawes

Some Other Books in The Critical Heritage Series

    Additional information

    Book Author

    B.C. Southam











    ISBN 10


    ISBN 13


    • Maroon Cloth With Gilt Title Cover And Spine,
    • Maroon Epps To Maroon Slipcase For Each Set
    • Mint Condition